Why our clients choose us…

Real testimonials written by real people

“I used First Step as a purchaser for the first time. They have been friendly and approachable throughout, with excellent communication. Would definitely use First Step again.

Andy
September 2021

“I just wanted to say thank you for all your help and efforts and guidance with regards to the sale of the house. It has been a challenging 6 or so months for everyone and we both cannot believe that it is finally over and completion has taken place but both Dave and I wanted to say a big thank you to the whole team for your kind support and understanding, right from the beginning of this journey. We will certainly be recommending you to our friends and family.

Julie and Dave
August 2021

“First Step has been a key asset in the successful completion of our property purchase. They are persistent, helpful and great at keeping us up to date. If we ever were to sell, we would ask First Step. Highly recommend!

Marco and Margaux
June 2021

I’d like to express my thanks to First Step for their help in the sale of my late father’s house. Selling a loved one’s home following a bereavement is never easy for the family and particularly so this year, with the added complications due to the Covid pandemic.

First Step have been professional, supportive and helpful throughout the process. From my initial request for a probate valuation, the marketing of the property, accompanied viewings and then overseeing the sale through to completion, everyone I have dealt with has been friendly, knowledgeable and customer focussed.

I’d definitely recommend your services to anyone wishing to sell their home.”

Sarah
June 2021

Everyone at First Step have been incredibly helpful during the rental process. They have made everything run smoothly keeping us updated the whole way. We are very happy in our new home and would recommend First Step to anyone wanting to rent a property.”

Claire
May 2021

“Thank you for your comprehensive update, especially with such a long chain!! I wish every agent was as conscientious and thorough as you!

Paula - William H Brown Estate Agents
May 2021

We just wanted to say a big thank you for helping to make our move possible. First Step were efficient and proactive and having seen how they fought for the best for their sellers, we would definitely be inclined to use First Step when we come to sell our property! They offered a really personal service to us as buyers, retaining information on what we were interested in, and recommending properties that they felt were appropriate, adding notes from their own experience of the market. Thank you!”

Kate
May 2021

I just wanted to share how impressed I was with the service First Step Lettings provided during this process which was more often than not, very stressful given I had so many things to juggle. They always kept me posted on developments, didn’t call me to present issues which I then needed to address but instead, gave me an update and had a solution at the ready. This took a lot of the stress out of the lettings side for me.
First Step Lettings are always upbeat, affable and approachable, which always makes our interactions a pleasure! Great service and thanks, as always.”

Minty
May 2021

“We chose to work with First Step because at our first meeting, we were impressed with their knowledge of the local market and I’m pleased to say we made the right decision. The whole Team at First Step were friendly, professional and always on hand to answer our often panicky questions with swift and reassuring responses! And all done with a human touch. We can’t fault them at all and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend First Step if you are looking to sell (or buy) your home.

Anon
April 2021

We’ve had a great experience with First Step and we feel like they really went above and beyond to help drive through our purchase. We were in constant communication with each other and we relied on them to give us updates on what was happening throughout our chain. They really helped push things along and supported us throughout the process – even though we weren’t clients of theirs. Cannot recommend them enough!”

Laura
April 2021

First Step were brilliant throughout the whole process from both selling the house through to chasing the chain to completion. From a viewings perspective, they secured lots of viewings for us and always provided us with feedback. Once we had sold, they were great at responding to any questions or queries and always kept us up to date and informed at every point. I felt that they were involved every step of the way and really helped to get us into our new home quicker. I would definitely recommend them and would use them again in the future.”

Laura
April 2021

“We have used First Step for both sales and rentals of our properties. Their service is second to none, the team is professional, genuine but with a personal touch. We were kept informed throughout the whole process, their attention to detail is what makes them stand out. We highly recommend them and would not hesitate to use them again in the future.

Mai
April 2021

“I just want to say what an absolutely amazing job you guys have done from start to finish during the whole buying / selling process. I’ve been singing your praises to everyone I’ve spoken to. Friendly, helpful and professional – I’ll be coming to you when I next move don’t worry about that!

Tom
March 2021

“Thank you so much for everything. It was a long time coming (I think the first time we spoke to you was in 2014!), but we’re happy to have finally made the move. The whole team have been incredible at every stage and always made things easy for us. I honestly can’t understand how anyone would consider using another agent – you are simply the best!”

Liz
March 2021

First Step provided us with a first class service in the sale of our property in Arlesey. Our property was only on the market for a couple of weeks and after a number of viewings in close succession, we quickly secured an offer. We had a professional photographer from First Step visit our property to take photos for the listing which really helped it stand out from the crowd on Rightmove. I have no doubt this helped to secure a number of viewings so soon after the property was initially listed. As always in the house buying/selling process, there were a number of chain issues that arose thereafter but First Step were first to act and propose solutions to us in order for the chain not to break and so the sale/purchase could complete as smoothly and quickly as possible! I would highly recommend using First Step if you are looking to sell your property.

Lyam
March 2021

“Thank you so much to First Step for such an amazing service when we sold our house in Dec 2020. The process was made so much easier and faster because of them. From initial quotation stage to being live on Rightmove was such a speedy turnaround. We had lots of viewings and received detailed feedback after each one. We managed to sell in a short 12 days! The care after we sold was also excellent, we were updated regularly with the chains progress and received lots of help when we ran in to a few hurdles within the chain. We had dealings with all members of staff at some point or another and I cannot pick fault with anything. I highly recommend.

Natalie
March 2021

“I thoroughly recommend First Step. The attention to detail is spot on. They go that extra mile to resolve those issues that block the chain which we all suffer from. Ensure to the best of their ability milestones are met for everyone to move as seamlessly as possible. Our extended family have used them on several occasions and they are second to none locally.”

Phil
March 2021

“First Step are a first rate estate agent. We were put at ease from the very beginning and quickly gained trust that Jules and the team were the best people to sell our property. We ended up selling and buying through First Step and their service has been excellent. One of the stand-out qualities of their service is dedicated teamwork, chasing & resolving all issues holding up the selling and buying of your property. This is so reassuring at such a stressful time. All staff have been fantastic to us, they have gone above and beyond to ensure we were kept in the loop at all stages as well as bending over backwards to keep our chain intact! We would recommend First Step to anyone buying or selling locally and we will be using them again in the future.”

Will & Danielle
February 2021

“Through an extremely stressful period, First Step were fantastically supportive from sale to onward purchase. Viewings were sensitively performed and I could tell the team were extremely well informed and caring. First Step oversaw the purchase of my new house with dedication and real commitment to getting me moved. However, it was First Steps’ perseverance and sheer determination in closing things down for us, particularly given the limitations and pressure Covid has imposed, that really stood out. Overall a brilliant team performance by an excellent local company. Thank you!! Five Stars.”

Sharon
February 2021

“First Step was a pleasure to deal with during a particularly long a stressful move. They were responsive, courteous and I’d have absolutely no problem recommending First step to friends and family. Thanks so much for getting us into our home just in time for our new arrival 👶.”

Jack & Sophie
February 2021

“Thank you so much to everyone at First Step that helped us firstly find out dream house, and then went on to help support us through the buying process. Buying a house / moving house is extremely stressful, but luckily we had First Step to help us through it all. They were always there at the end of the phone. The team at First Step helped make sure the house purchase went as smoothly as it could. They kept us up to date with all the information we needed and how to do certain things. We are extremely grateful for all the help we received. Thank you again to everyone at First Step.”

Katie B
February 2021

“I have had the pleasure of liaising with First Step initially on the lettings side and then more recently on the sales side. The whole team were professional, pleasant to speak with and provided regular updates throughout. I would highly recommend them to anyone considering buying/selling or wishing to rent a property in the Bedfordshire/Hertfordshire area.”

Alison T
December 2020

“We have thoroughly enjoyed using First Step as our estate agent. Most estate agents are about shiny suits and spin; you were genuine. There was a high level of care in our house and the best way to sell it: from the care taken to understand our property when carrying out viewings, to the quality of the photographs used to promote it. When we got to the point of receiving an offer First Step worked to get us the best offer available. We felt First Step were very much working for our best interests. The post offer process was extremely stressful, partly by the Coronavirus Emergency, but largely by the delays from our buyer’s solicitor and mortgagee. First Step worked tirelessly to progress the sale. Ensuring we were kept up to date with whatever was happening with the buyer. First Step did all they could to help progress matters. For example, research to locate a working fax number for our buyer’s solicitor. It is often glibly said that someone “went the extra mile”, but honestly, First Step ran an ultra marathon to get us to exchange and completion. We wouldn’t have completed now without your efforts. We can’t thank you enough.

We would wholehearted recommend First Step. You’re different from other estate agents. And that’s a compliment! “

Judith & Lesley
December 2020

“Fantastic people who are always there to help, whether you are buying or selling with First Step they will be there for you all the way. Whatever your situation they will work hard and stay with you through any challenges you may experience. I would have no hesitation in recommending First Step to anyone.”

Antonio
December 2020

“The team at First step were very pleasant to deal with, from the first viewing through to completion. The team was very calm in the face of a few setbacks during the sales process, and ultimately endured the transaction completed smoothly. I wouldn’t hesitate to use First step and can thoroughly recommended their services.”

Paula
November 2020

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the services you have rendered to us from the beginning of our application, you have done everything that you could for us most especially in this time of the pandemic. I would surely and proudly recommend your agency to my friends. I add my testimony so that others can see your exceptional work. More power to you.”

Cheryl
November 2020

“I have been very impressed with the service I have received from First Step. The team has been friendly and professional throughout what has been a very convoluted transaction. The First Step team is extremely knowledgeable about shared ownership, and has always been happy to answer my questions. I didn’t think I was going to be able to sell my flat but, thanks largely to First Step, it has finally sold! I would have no hesitation in recommending First Step to anyone looking at selling (or buying) a shared ownership property. Thank you so much again for your help – I really have hugely appreciated it throughout this process!”

Alex
November 2020

We hired First Step to sell our property after meeting Sandie at a visit to a property we wanted to buy. First Step was extremely helpful and professional and so we felt that having them showing potential buyers around our house would be perfect! The First Step team moved quickly to get our property on the market and within a few days we had sold. We then worked with another member of the First Step team who again was helpful, professional and very kind throughout the rest of the process. During our sale COVID came and we lost our buyers and so we became very stressed and nervous that we wouldn’t sell again. Having First Step by our side throughout the next few months during a very difficult time due to increased wait times for solicitors and lenders was reassuring as she was proactive, responsive and always there for us and our buyers with anything either of us needed. First Step are a well organised estate agent who clearly pride themselves on giving all their customers the best service but most of all the support they give throughout the process is wonderful. We will definitely be using them again in the future and would recommend them to anyone buying or selling a property.

Claire
November 2020

“The Lettings team at First Step were an absolute star in finding us a home. They were dedicated to the search for us and was a pleasure to deal with every step of the way. Kind, thoughtful, professional and supportive in our very stressful search during a crazy time for Tenants seeking homes. First Step Lettings found us the perfect place and we are so happy with our new place. They even recommended a moving company who were brilliant too!
Cannot express just how good First Step are to deal with – everyone is courteous and friendly. Thank you First Step!”

Sarah
October 2020

“Had the pleasure of dealing with First Step. Found us a lovely property to let. A lovely genuine company who is one in a million and cannot thank you enough. Very professional and dedicated to their job… Nothing was too much trouble and would highly recommend. If I could give more stars I would. Really are one in a million. Thank you for everything you done for us.”

Lianne
October 2020

“I recently bought my house through First Step estate agents. Covid did not make this an easy process but the team went above and beyond to help. They kept me up to date with everything. Brilliant customer service with a personal touch. Would highly recommend!”

Emily
September 2020

“I’d like to thank you First Step for all your hard work – you’ve been fabulous throughout in what can only be described as trying times! You made the process as pain free as possible and have been helpful and positive at every stage. So again, big thanks!!! Dealing with First Step has been great, with everyone involved – helpful, responsive and proactive, especially considering the circumstances. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience.”

James
September 2020

“From start to finish we have found First Step incredibly helpful. They have offered advice based on what is best for us, it is really refreshing to have estate agents who are honest and have your best interests at heart. The whole team are very friendly, professional and stayed in touch every step of our house sale. We bought our house through them and they were so good, we chose to sell our house through them. A choice we didn’t regret, we couldn’t be happier with their service, especially during a difficult time with Coronavirus. A wholehearted thank you from us both.”

Nick & Steph
September 2020

“I wanted to say what a great pleasure it was to have First Step managing our recent move. From our first contact with them, they couldn’t have been more helpful and even now we have completed the move, they are supporting us with a couple of (minor) issues with the house.
I would thoroughly recommend First Step to everyone.”

Mark
August 2020

“I cannot recommend First Step enough. I first met Jules when she showed me round my first house that I would eventually go on to buy. Back then as a potential buyer, they were so professional, friendly and it was definitely the best viewing I had. Their excellent knowledge of the housing markets and local areas are what really sets them apart and as a small business they really take care of you. Some years later, Jules and the team were the immediate choice when I decided to put the house on the market. Jules and her team were quick to get viewings and they couldn’t do enough in order to help the sale through. Once the house was off market, First Step oversaw the sale completion. It was stretched out quite a bit due to the Covid-19 pandemic, but First Step did everything they could to progress the sale as fast as possible. Communication from First step was fantastic, they will always keep you updated and get back to you. From start to finish First Step have always been a pleasure to deal with and I would not hesitate to recommend or use them again. Thank you!.”

Lily
August 2020

“Dear First Step
I just wanted to write and thank you personally (and your team) for your assistance during the sale of my house. I know I was not the easiest person to deal with at times, but I am grateful for all your help.
Your professionalism throughout and your team’s constant updates are second to none. You go above and beyond what I expected and I just wish all Estate Agents were like you.
I would not hesitate to recommend First Step and if I ever move again, I will only ever use you.”

Carolyn
August 2020

“I would like to thank you to the whole of the First Step team for all their help and hard work over the last few months. They are excellent at staying in contact throughout the whole process and were able to give me useful advice on things I was unsure of. As a first time buyer, the experience could have been really difficult and quite daunting, but the whole team at First Step made it as easy as possible for me.
I would like to say a big thank you to you all and would highly recommend the First Step team to anyone looking at buying their first place, especially if using a shared ownership scheme.”

Will
August 2020

“As a first time buyer, I was anxious and really overwhelmed by the whole process especially during the pandemic. First Step always made me feel at ease during the process and helped and supported me with answering any questions and queries. They are very professional and efficient within their roles, as well as that, they are lovely and very approachable and made my process a bit more easier! I cannot thank them enough and would recommend First Step to anyone, the team, the service, is just outstanding.”

Jade
August 2020

“If I could leave a 6 star review I would. I’ve dealt with many estate agents as a tenant, buyer or seller and hands down they were the best. Not just the best but it always felt like they were doing so much more than they had to, they were not taking advantage of you and very easy to get on with. They were always in contact and working hard on your behalf. I’m not one of these gushy reviewers, but of any place I’ve reviewed in general First Step would be number 1.”

Peter
July 2020

“I just wanted to pass on my sincere thanks to everyone at First Step for their fantastic service. Having started the process of selling our property pre-Covid it was challenging moving the process forward mid-Covid, however, First Step kept us updated, often daily with emails/calls, on progress and nothing was too much trouble. The Covid-team were critical in progressing the chain, often chasing others in the chain outside of their remit to make sure things ran smoothly. I learnt that appointing cheaper internet providers does not pay off in the long run, the local, personal touch is so much better in the long term. First Step have been worth every penny and if they can move you in a pandemic, then they can do anything!
From the initial meeting, to completion First Step was fantastic! Staff are friendly, honest and reliable, they tell you exactly as it is! Lastly, a very big thank you to the Covid-team Sales Progression who were simply amazing…. super efficient and kept everything on track throughout the chain. In unprecedented times the team were outstanding.
Please use First Step you will not regret it!”

Mandy
June 2020

“Thanks for the text to see how we are, I think I can say I’ve settled well into Letchworth now and am doing ok. I’d just like to say thank you for your help with selling Hitchin Road, as it was a daunting prospect last December but with your help it became manageable. From your great service with organising and conducting viewings through to the communication throughout the sale process. You always knew what was going on and had a very timely response to our queries. With the Covid situation complicating matters, this made communication even more important and one I think you excelled at. So thanks for all your help, I will certainly be recommending First Step.”

Steve
June 2020

“We were fortunate to buy our first house with First Step. Thanks for a professional approach during the properties viewing and for the support during the buying process, keeping us up to date with progress. Would definitely recommend doing business with First Step. Well done and all the best during these difficult times!”

Vladmir
May 2020

First Step was absolutely wonderful. Incredibly supportive during such a difficult time. They are professional, caring and always willing to go the extra mile. My sincere thanks First Step!

PP
May 2020

“First step were like a breath of fresh air! Really professional throughout the whole process and I always felt they were “on my side”. I would highly recommend them 🙂 Thank you.”

Mark
April 2020

“Just wanted to say a huge thank you to you and your colleague in managing to get my empty flat let in this incredibly difficult period. I really appreciate your efforts and I am kicking myself for not having got back in touch with your agency sooner. Stay safe and well.

Dan
April 2020

“I asked your lettings team if it would be possible to let their directors know what an outstanding job they have done for me, so hope you don’t mind the direct email. I first approached them in January about finding a rental property for me and they have been truly outstanding in their support throughout. They really did go above and beyond the call of duty to make the process easier in such a difficult time. It is fair to say that this is the best agent I have ever dealt with and having bought, sold, let properties and rented over a period of 30 years, that is meaningful! They have a gift of understanding and working with people that is rare. I have given First Step a 5 star review and hope this is helpful to them and your business in these challenging times.

Pattie
April 2020

“Well done guys, the sale has completed as requested before the 5th April, which in normal circumstances would have been a difficult task, but considering the current situation, it is quite a feat!!! You have been absolutely pivotal in getting this done! – Liaising with us, the buyers, their solicitors, the tenant, your lettings department, cleaners and our solicitors (whilst also home schooling your children!). This certainly wouldn’t have happened without you, you are an asset to First Step!! Thank you again, and let’s hope normality resumes soon!

George & Vicky
April 2020

There are no words to express how grateful I am for all your help, support, advice, guidance, the list goes on! You really do go above and beyond what is expected! I for one cannot thank you enough! I will be recommending yourself and the rest of First Step whenever I can.

Becky
March 2020

This is the second time that we have used First Step to sell a property and on both occasions the service we received from the whole team has been nothing but first class! What we really admire about this company is that they work really hard to earn their fee – some Estate Agencies rely on their company name to sell property and don’t seem at all pro-active or keep you informed enough but First Step work hard to ensure you are kept in the loop at all times and their negotiating skills are second to none, ensuring you sell to the right person for the best possible price. We would have no hesitation in recommending First Step to anyone. Thank you, you are amazing!

Ali
March 2020

“Thank you for all your support on our purchase, you really went above and beyond! We wouldn’t be settled happily in our new home without you!

Lucy and Tom
March 2020

“Thank you for all your advice and help in our house purchase. The weekly phone calls and emails were much appreciated as communication with our previous estate agent was disappointing. First Step have been professional throughout the whole process and we will not hesitate to recommend you to anyone.

Jenny and Bernie
February 2020

“I have just sold my house with First Step, what can I say they are amazing. They chase and keep everyone in the loop, I would say going above and beyond. All of the team are aware of what was going on so all were able to help if I called. I am also buying another house through First Step and the team have been great with that as well, always keeping me informed of where we are in the process. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend First Step, they really do make a stressful process much easier.

Becky
January 2020

View Testimonials from 2019 to 2016

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save